skip to Main Content

The EU creates its first joint rapid response force to cyber threats

The European Foreign Affairs Council (FAC) signs the declaration of intent for the creation of the “EU Cyber Rapid Response Force”. Currently it includes 7 countries. It will guarantee cyber security and information security (Infosec) in the European Union

The EU has created a joint rapid response force against cyber threats. The European Foreign Affairs Council (FAC) established it on a proposal from Lithuania. It will be dubbed “EU Cyber Rapid Response Force” and currently includes 7 countries: Croatia, Estonia, France, Finland, the Netherlands, Romania and Spain. Belgium, Germany, Greece and Slovenia are observers and within the year there will be new accessions from the countries of the block. Its constitution will be in two phases. The first in which the legal and technical bases of the cyber team operations, and about project financing will be created. The second will be the operational one, characterized by joint exercises and by the study of shared tools for contrasting and responding to cyber threats. The Lithuanian Minister of Defense, Raimundas Karoblis, explained that international efforts are needed as a result of the modern and cross-border nature of information security threats (infosec).

Back To Top